Lemons = Betrayal, in the form of infidelity.
Lemonade = Visual Masterpiece.

One of the very first scenes in Lemonade is with Beyonce knelt on a stage:

stage

I believe we are meant to view this “short film” just like a play. It is simply for our entertainment. Jay Z and Beyoncé have already lived through this experience and Lemonade is an artistic apparatus used to act out, scene by scene their destructive fall out, all the way up to their beautiful redemption. We are not supposed to analyze every minute and contemplate which parts are fact or fiction – The war has already been won. Just sit back, and enjoy the show. It is a good show indeed.

breaking security cam

Beyonce so cleverly integrates the stages of emotions she went through while being on the victim side of infidelity:

Intuition
Denial
Anger
Apathy
Emptiness
Loss

Accountability
Reformation
Forgiveness
Resurrection
Hope
Redemption

Probably my favorite scene was representing ANGER acted out along to the song ‘Don’t Hurt Yourself’.

dont hurt yourself

Guuuuurl……Do you see the look on her face? If I ever had a “spirit animal”, it’s Beyonce in this grimy parking garage scene right here.

dont hurt yourself 2

*thuglife*

On the other hand, probably one of the creepiest parts in Lemonade was when Beyoncé said this:

If it’s what you truly want … I can wear her skin over mine. Her hair over mine. Her hands as gloves. Her teeth as confetti. Her scalp, a cap. Her sternum, my bedazzled cane. We can pose for a photograph, all three of us. Immortalized … you and your perfect girl.

It’s totally morbid and dark with a twist of psycho but Beyoncé is kinda perfectly portraying how any woman who deeply loves her man would react if they found out they had been cheated on – especially if she gave everything her man could ever want. Why would they ever yearn for more?

What a wicked way to treat the girl that loves you.
Hold up, they don’t love you like I love you.
Slow down they don’t love you like I love you.

Oh it is such a shame
You let this good love go to waste.
I always keep the top tier, 5 star,
Backseat lovin’ in the car.

hold up

Let’s talk about the song ‘Daddy Lessons’, shall we? First of all, thank you, Queen B for delivering such a dance-worthy song that every time I play it, makes me feel like I am the star of my own personal music video. I love this song. But I do realize there is a much deeper message going on in this song than we think:

Beyonce’s Father was unfaithful to her mother. We discover that in her dialogue when she says:

You remind me of my father, a magician. Able to exist in two places at once.

So, in Daddy Lessons, my opinion is that this is the product of what her Dad has taught her after Beyonce came to him with her first real broken heart and all he could tell her was:

Baby girl he’s playing you,

He’s playing you.

Cause when trouble comes in town

And men like me come around,

Oh, my daddy said shoot.

My Daddy said shoot.

Now it is much easier to understand why Beyonce went “cray cray” when she found out Jay Z was sleeping with “Becky with the good hair” and perhaps his other “side chicks” — I believe that a wound like that hurts ten times more when suppressed emotions from childhood relating to a similar situation already exist — in Beyonce’s case, I’m assuming that when she found out Jay Z had been unfaithful, it reminded her of all the times her father lied to her mother. So, not only did she have her own pain to deal with in her romantic relationship but she was also retraumatized from everything she witnessed her parents go through as a child.

*That’s deep, yo*

In the first scenes of Lemonade, Beyoncé was totally arrogant, raw and cocky – she shows rage, frustration, emptiness, desperation, and uses promiscuity as a way to come off as heartless.

i aint sorry giphy

Deep down though, I believe she is broken hearted and in the scenes that follow we begin to see a softer side to her where she learns to feel her feelings instead of numbing herself and shutting them out.

That is where healing begins.

She talks about forgiveness during the song, ‘Sandcastles.’ Forgiveness is key in order for hope and redemption to occur. I think the scene for this song could not have captured Jay Z’s remorse more perfectly.

forgiveness 1 giphy

He is sorry, he realizes how wrong he was. He is worshiping his queen and he will never make the same mistake again. The best part about this scene is that I felt like they were falling in love all over again.

reconnecting giphy

laughing giphy

Next came flashing scenes of people holding photos of their fallen loved ones – representing loss, and grief.

Then Beyonce says this:

You are terrifying

and strange

and beautiful.

Just in the next scene representing HOPE – their baby, Blue Ivy, is featured in the film.

I truly believe she was talking about God there, just as the Bible says:

The Lord gives, and the Lord takes away. -Job 1:21

How can I not mention ‘Freedom’ –  the anthem of all anthems.

beyonce 1

I’m telling these tears, “Go and fall away, fall away”
May the last one burn into flames.

I break chains all by myself
Won’t let my freedom rot in hell
I’ma keep running
Cause a winner don’t quit on themselves

beyonce 2

And then the most beautiful dedication to her Grandmother to who I am sure the lyrics for ‘Freedom’ were inspired by:

Grandmother, the alchemist, you spun gold out of this hard life, conjured beauty from the things left behind. Found healing where it did not live. Discovered the antidote in your own kit. Broke the curse with your own two hands. You passed these instructions down to your daughter who then passed it down to her daughter.

beyonce 4

I had my ups and downs, but I always find the inner strength to pull myself up. I was served lemons, but I made lemonade. My grandma said “Nothing real can be threatened.” True love brought salvation back into me. With every tear came redemption and my torturers became my remedy. So we’re gonna heal. We’re gonna start again.

beyonce 3

That is why I believe the purpose behind Lemonade was for Beyoncé to create a visual masterpiece to proudly display her triumph over a situation that ended much different than the beginning, all thanks to the glory of God, Forgiveness, and Love.

You go, girl!

redemption beyonce

© Caitlin De Naples TheRevivalExperience, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Caitlin De Naples and TheRevivalExperience with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

